Are you ready?

Standard

You ready?

If you’re a teacher, you know that question: Are you ready? Beginning toward the end of July, no matter where you are or what individual has engaged you in conversation, the question will surface.

“Well, are you ready?”

Sometimes, I think this question has more to do with a parent asking if I’m standing at the line in a relay race ready to take the baton (their child) because the parent has run that race all summer. If that’s the case, I could honestly answer, “Yes!” If someone told me on a Sunday that school started a month early, and I had no choice but to be there that next day, a Monday, I would be ready. Ready to start the conversations that bubble up in ELA; ready to share my favorite book of the summer with them; ready to read my latest writing project to them and receive their feedback. I would be ready to listen to their stories of summer; ready to hear about their first jobs, their first loves, their first break-ups; ready to hear about the interesting ways they are finding to write (a blog, song lyrics, letters to an absent parent).

“Yes, I’m that kind of ready.”

But, if that question means is my classroom ready? I have to answer, “No, but it will be at midnight on Sunday.” I’m still setting up my “getting to know the classroom” centers for the first day. I’m still trying to figure out the best way to collect papers. I’m still making sure that my lesson plans align to the TEKS and the students and the world they live in. I’m still reading other master teachers’ blog posts like

Tricia Ebervia’s post How I Made Time for Reading…

and Amy Rasmussen’s recent post on Three Teachers Talk on doing Workshop in 45 Minutes .

After thirty years of teaching, you would think that I would be able to rest on my laurels and be ready for Monday morning, trouble- and worry-free, but I think it’s part of my process. Part of what makes me the teacher I am today.

Yes, to answer your question… I will be ready. I always am.

 

About Katrina Gonzales

Having taught almost 30 years, I have a wealth of knowledge to share about the field of education---some good knowledge, some not-so-good knowledge, and some knowledge that might just blow your mind, or not. I decided to name this blog "Mining the Magic" as a tribute to those magical moments that surface often unexpectedly in the classroom. After this much time in education, however, I realized that those magical moments are never random; lots of planning, hard work, and the establishment of a community of learners precludes these extraordinary, and seemingly magical, times in the classroom. Currently, I "mine" the "magic" in Room 320 at Sonora High School. In the past 29 years, I've been known to teach Early Childhood Handicapped, 8th Grade ELA, self-contained elementary, and even adults as a consultant at Education Service Center XV. While I am turned into a claustrophobic mess at the thought of actually spelunking in a natural cavern, the lovely formations that occur in the classroom fascinate me. It's with this eye for a "jewel" with a student that I set out to explain how to "mine the magic."

2 responses »

  1. Katrina, I woke up at 2:17 this morning! Thinking about tomorrow. Like you, I’ll be ready. Thanks for this post — and the shout out!

    Best wishes for an excellent year!

    Like

    • Yes, Amy, the ol’ 2:10 am wakeup call, stirring teachers everywhere around the globe. I was up, too. We need to start some sort of social media group that convenes at 2:10 am every year on the days leading up to the start of school!

      Have a wonderful year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

